AnswerThe Retroactive Retention job does not instantly delete emails. It evaluates each email against the current set of retention policies and assigns a policy to an email accordingly. The deletion will occur via a daily maintenance job which runs automatically (normally starting at 11pm). Emails will be effectively removed once the first maintenance job completes after Retroactive Retention was run.
The following example explains this in a timeline:
- 09:00am - You create a new retention policy to delete emails with the condition subject - [PRIVATE]* to be deleted immediately
- 09:05am - You start Retroactive Retention
- 11:00am - The Retroactive Retention job completes (no email has been deleted via Retroactive Retention at this point)
- 11:00pm - The daily maintenance job starts and processes emails which are due to be deleted