This article provides an answer to the query: What does 'Delete databases as needed' option do?
When the database rotation option is enabled, the option 'Delete databases as needed' can be checked in order to clear the oldest database when the number of maximum databases is reached.
- If the option is disabled and the number of databases to create is five (5), the system will stop rotating at five (5) databases and at that point will write all the data into the last one.
- If the option is enabled and the number of databases to create is five (5), the system will rotate the database and delete the oldest database when rotation action is executed.
Here are some examples:
- A database with the name of
DBwould rotate the first time and new data will be written into the created database
- After five (5) rotations, the five (5) databases in sequence would consist of
DBwould be deleted).
DB#0would be deleted automatically and so on.